Nearly 500 youth, their families and community leaders visited the Urban League of Greater Madison for the 39th Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Youth Recognition Breakfast in a COVID-safe event.

One of the oldest and most well attended family observations of the King holiday in the state of Wisconsin, that recognizes middle and high school students from across Dane County. Recipients are presented with the Outstanding Young Person Award and MLK College Scholarships and beautifully printed certificates. The winners are nominated for the awards by their schools for their academic performance, community service and participation in extra-curricular activities. 

“I am always amazed by the talented students that are recognized during the MLK Breakfast,” said Ruben L. Anthony Jr., president and CEO of the Urban League. “I am very encouraged about our future. These students are extremely exceptional in technology, science, the arts and in multiple fields.”

Anthony was joined by Urban League of Greater Madison Board President Beth Curley-Prestine in congratulating the outstanding students.  Dr. Angie Hicks Associate Superintendent of Secondary Schools – Middle Schools for the Madison Metropolitan School District did the same. Linnell Franklin, son to Betty Franklin-Hammonds, was on hand to congratulate the winners of the scholarship fund named to honor his mother.

Franklin-Hammonds was one of Madison’s most “dynamic and visionary” leaders, according to the event pamphlet. After she died in 1999, the scholarship was created in her name through an endowment from the Madison Community Foundation to recognize seniors who wish to pursue higher education, especially those who’ve faced social or economic obstacles.

“There’s a lot of work that goes into identifying students on the schools’ part, and coordinating the event, but it’s all worth it when you see students smiling as they as they receive their awards and get the recognition they may not usually get from school,” said Andrew Schilicher, director of Middle School Programs at the Urban League.

Betty Franklin-Hammonds Scholarship awardees are:

•  Thomas Tatus – La Follette High School

•  Amara Stovall – Memorial High School

•  Satori Lucas-Jones – Sun Prairie West High School

•  Andrea Chavez-Lazaro – Verona Area High School

The George Anglin Scholarship was created by Jim Gallegos to honor the life and legacy of his spouse, George Anglin, who passed away in 2020. This scholarship is awarded to two graduating seniors who have overcome obstacles to achieve their goal of pursuing a post-secondary program focused on technology, music, art or another STEAM fields. 

Recipients receive a one-time, $1,275 scholarship.

George Anglin Memorial Scholarship awardees are:

•  Grace Nwankwo – Edgewood High School

•  Samuel Akere – Verona Area High School

Just as the awardees before them, these students have been chosen for their outstanding resilience, scholastic excellence, and ability to make an impact for the community and those around them.